• Send email
    SEND US
    EMAIL
  • Phone
    LOCAL: (501) 364-3396
    TOLL FREE: (866) 611-3445

Law enforcement

Click any topic below to read more about it.

Graduated Driver Licensing Law

download

Applies to those applying for or receiving Learner's or Intermediate Licenses after 7/31/09.

The most restrictive graduated driver licensing programs are associated with reductions of 38 percent and 40 percent in fatal crashes and injury crashes, repectively, of 16 year-old-drivers.

The overall reductions, for all three-stage GDL programs combined, are 11 percent for fatal crashes and 19 percent for injury crashes.
Johns Hopkins, 2007

Hardship License (optional)

Minimum age: 14.

RESTRICTIONS

Supervision Limited unsupervised driving based on hardship qualifications.
Seat Belts Use required.
Cell Phone No cell phone or other interactive wireless communication device used.
Passengers Only one unrelated passenger (not including siblings or a child living in the same household) allowed unless there is a licensed driver 21 yars of age or older in the front passenger seat.
Nighttime Driving No driving between 11 p.m. and 4 a.m., unless there is a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older in the vehicle, or driving to or from a school activity, chruch activity, a job, or in case of an emergency.

Learner's License

Minimum age: 14.

RESTRICTIONS

Supervision Driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age at all times.
Seat Belts Use required.
Cell Phone No cell phone or other interactive wireless communication device used for talking, texting or emailing while driving (emergency use only).

Intermediate License

Minimum age: 16.

RESTRICTIONS

Supervision If 16, when applying for first licensure, licensed adult supervision is required for first 6 months.
Seat Belts Use required.
Cell Phone No cell phone or other interactive wireless communication device used for talking, texting or emailing while driving (emergency use only).
Passengers No unrelated minor passengers (under 21) allowed unless there is a licensed driver 21 yars of age or older in the front passenger seat.
Nighttime Driving No driving between 11 p.m. and 4 a.m., unless there is a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older in the vehicle, or driving to or from a school activity, chruch activity, a job, or in case of an emergency.

Unrestricted License

Minimum age: 18.

RESTRICTIONS

Seat Belts Use required.
Cell Phone Hands-free cell phone use allowed for those ages 18-21. No texting allowed (emergency use only).

Violations

If any restrictions are violated, penalties could include a citation and suspension of license for up to 6 months.

No crash or traffic violations for at least 6 months prior to application for Learner's Hardship or Intermediate license.

No serious violation for at least 12 months prior to application for Unrestricted license.

Know the Facts

A teen died in a car crash every 4 days in Arkansas in 2008.
Arkansas State Police

Arkansas teens have rates of motor veicle death that are nearly twice as high as the United States overall.

Over the last 7 years, motor vehicle crashes have been the leading cause of death for Arkansas teens.

635 Arkansas teens ages 14-19 were killed as a result of motor vehicle crashes from 2000-2006.
CDC

Set the Rules. Control the Privilege.

download

A guide to Arkansas' Graduated Driver Licensing law

The Graduate Driver Licensing (GDL) law

The most restrictive graduated driver licensing programs are associated with reductions of 38 percent and 40 percent in fatal crahes and injury crashes, respectively, of 16 year-old-drivers.

The overall reductions, for all three-stage GDL programs combined, are 11 percent for fatal cashes and 19 percent for injury crashes.
2007 NATIONWIDE REVIEW OF GDL COMPLETED BY JOHNS HOPKINS CENTER FOR INJURY RESEARCH AND POLCICY

An acknowledgement will be signed by the applicant and parent for a learner's or an intermediate license stating that they understand the new restrictions on cell phone use, passengeres and nighttime driving.

Arkansas Law

Children must be in a child passenger seat until they are 6 years and 60 pounds. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends children remain in child passenger seats until 8 years, 80 pounds, or 4'9" tall.

Arkansas requires drivers and passengers in motor vehicles to buckle up.

Drivers and passengers can be issued a traffic citation for not wearing a seat belt.

Know the Facts

In Arkansas, teens die in car crashes at a rate two times that of the United States. The Graduated Driver's Licensing law allows teens more time to learn how to drive while limiting risks.

Effective July 31, 2009, the new law applies to young drivers and includes restrictions on cell phone use, passengers and nighttime driving.

Arkansas teens die in motor vehicle crashes at a rate almst twice as high as the national rate.
CDC

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for teens, making up 78 percent of total Arkansas' unintentional teen fatalities from 1999-2005.
CDC

632 Arkansas teens ages 14-19 were killed as a result of motor vehicle crashes from 1999-2005.
CDC

Buckle Up Arkansas!

download

A guide to the Primary Seat Belt Law

Seat belts and child safety seats

Seat belts and child safety seats help prevent injury five different ways

  • Preventing ejection.
  • Shifting crash forces to the strongest parts of the body.
  • Spreading forces over a wide area of the body.
  • Allowing the body to slow down gradually.
  • Protecting the head and spinal cord.

Arkansas Law

Children must be in a child passenger seat until they are 6 years and 60 pounds. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends children remain in child passenger seats until 8 years, 80 pounds, or 4'9" tall.

Arkansas requires drivers and passengers in motor vehicles to buckle up.

Drivers and passengers can be issued a traffic citation for not wearing a seat belt.

Know the Facts

In 2008 Arkansas seat belt use was 70.4 percent and the national average was 83 percent.
NHTSA

States that have primary seat belt laws have higher seat belt use rates and lower fatality rates.
PRIMARY ENFORCEMENT SAVES LIVES, NHTS

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for people ages 1-34.
CDC

In Arkansas, nearly 7 out of every 10 persons killed in a motor vehicle crash were unrestrained. Three out of 4 teens ages 16-20 killed in a car crash were not wearing a seat belt.
ARKANSAS 2006 HIGHWAY TRAFFIC CRASH STATISTICS, ARKANSAS STATE POLICE

Accordig to a 2004 study conducted by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, the change from secondary to primary enforcement laws was found to reduce annual passenger vehicle driver death rates by an estimated 7 percent.
ADVOCATES FOR HIGHWAY AND AUTO SAFETY, 2008

Ejection from the vehicle is one of the most injurious events that can happen to a person in a crash. In 2004, 74 percent of passenger vehicle occupants who were ejected were killed.
TRAFFIC SAFETY FACTS 2004, NHTSA

Put the Cell Phone Away!

download

A guide to understanding cell phone use restrictions while driving

Young Drivers and Cell Phones

(Acts 247 and 197)

Drivers under age 18
  • May not use a handheld cell phone for talking, texting, emailing or surfing the Internet while driving.
  • May use a handheld cell p hone in an emergency only.
Drivers under age 18-21
  • May not use a handheld cell phone for talking, texting, emailing or surfing the Internet while driving.
  • May use a hands-free wireless telephone or device while drivig.
  • May use a handheld cell p hone in an emergency only.

Drivers Over 21 and Cell Phones

(Paul's Law -Act 181)

  • The driver of a motor vehicle may no longer use a handheld wireless telephone for a text messaging, emailing or surfing the Internet while driving.
  • The driver may text, email or use the Internet on their handheld wireless telephone only in the case of an emergency.

Know the Facts

Drivers who use cell phones are four times more likely to be in a crash.
INSURANCE INSTITUTE FOR HIGHWAY SAFETY

Driver inattention is the leading factor in most crashes and near crashes.
GOVERNORS HIGHWAY SAFETY ASSOCIATION

Nearly 80 percent of crashes and 65 percent of near-crashes involve some sort of driver inattention within three seconds before the crash.
VIRGINIA TECH TRANSPORTATION INSTITUTE

Enforcement

Enforcement: Drivers cannot be stopped or detained for this violation only. First offense will be given a warning citation, no penalty and no court. Second offense is a $50 fine.